COVID-19 AUGUST UPDATE

COVID-IMAGE
 

   On August 7th, 2020 Governor JB Pritzker announced that the Illinois Department of Public Health filed emergency rules mandating the use of face masks and restricting gatherings to mitigate the spread of COVID-19. The emergency rules are designed to encourage voluntary compliance before a business is ordered to comply or is subject to penalties. These emergency rules are directed towards businesses and does not subject individuals to any penalty.

Emergency Rules

Requirements & Restrictions

  • Any individual over age two and able to medically tolerate a face covering is required to cover their nose and mouth with a face covering when in a public place and unable to maintain at least a six-foot social distance.
  • Any business, service, facility, or organization shall take reasonable steps to require employees, customers, and other individuals on the premises to wear a face covering.
  • Public and nonpublic schools, ranging from preschools through post-secondary institutions, and day care centers and homes shall require students, employees, and other individuals on the premises to wear a face covering.
  • Gatherings of more than 50 people or more than 50% of a building’s maximum capacity are prohibited unless exempted by law or Executive Order.

Enforcement against a business, service, facility, or organization open to the public.

  • First, the establishment will be given a written notice of non-compliance by an enforcing entity and a reasonable opportunity to come into compliance.
  • Second, the establishment may be ordered to have some or all the people on the premises disperse if it does not voluntarily comply in a reasonable time after receiving a verbal or written notice.
  • Third, any establishment that refuses to comply with a written order to disperse will be subject to the penalties set forth in Section 8.1 of the Department of Public Health Act, which could include a Class A Misdemeanor. For an establishment, the only possible penalty is a fine of between $75 and $2500 for refusal to voluntarily comply after an opportunity to come into compliance.
  • Enforcing entities are required to take into consideration reasonable efforts taken by the establishment to ensure patrons and employees wear a face covering while they are at the establishment and unable to maintain a social distance of at least six feet.
  • The rule makes clear in numerous places that no individual may be subject to the penalties set forth under Section 8.1 of the Act.

Enforcement against schools and day care establishments

  • A school or day care may be given a written notice of non-compliance and a reasonable opportunity come into compliance.
  • Schools and day cares are required to notify parents in writing that a notice of non-compliance was issued and disclose their plan to come into compliance.
  • The enforcing entity will notify the local health authority, the local school district or parent institution affiliated with the school, the Illinois State Board of Education, the Illinois Board of Higher Education, the Illinois Community College Board, or DCFS, as appropriate, if the school or day care establishment fails to comply after receiving a written notice of non-compliance.
  • Local health authorities are authorized to take necessary measures to ensure schools or day care establishments come into compliance.

   In an effort to do our part and mitigate the spread of COVID-19 within our communities, the Village of Bridgeview will continue comply with State and Federal pandemic mandates/guidelines. Public safety is a top priority and we encourage all residents to social distance, wear masks, and keep your family safe.

 
 

« Back

 
Copyright © 2010 Village of Bridgeview. All Rights Reserved.